Search This Blog

Showing posts with label bistro. Show all posts
Showing posts with label bistro. Show all posts

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Radcliffe Arms, Hermitage Road



Total Team Rating



We would like to say before you read the reviews, please take time to read the interesting "Write to reply" we had from the Radcliffe after showing them one of the reviews. Interesting customer service. This can be found at the bottom of the page.

Harry's Review



Oh dear oh dear oh dear. Where to start with tonight’s review! Such high expectations and what did we get….

We had booked a table for 4 in the conservatory for 8 pm, a guest reviewer was with the terrible trio. So we arrived arrived early at ten to eight to be shown a table for 4 in the main pub, not a problem except that we had specifically booked a table in the conservatory we said. The barman replied “that’s OK we’ll get you a table in the conservatory” so we ordered a pint and had a chat at the bar only to be told that actually the conservatory was full so we took the table in the main bar. This set the tone for the whole evening where nothing was delivered as should be.

We had actually blown our schedule to make a trip to the Radcliffe to partake of their 2 hanger steaks and a bottle of wine offer for £15 each. Having sat at the table we were waiting some considerable time for any service at all. When eventually the waiter did ask us, we had a bit of an internal communication error as our guest reviewer decided he didn’t want the steak deal. We asked the waiter to give us 2 minutes just while we sorted out. 

Fully 15 minutes later the waiter returned, Maurice and Mick had decided to go for the steak, our guest and myself went for the pork belly with Flemish beans and mash on the specials board. 

Having ordered, the waiter then returned to tell us that the hanger steak had gone as they had a run on them. At that stage we were ready to bale out, as the only reason we had come in the first instance was this deal. The waiter to be fair did then ask the chef if we could have a free upgrade to a sirloin which was agreed so we stayed, though it was touch and go.  



The main took an age to come. We had entered the pub at ten to eight and it was nine thirty before our food arrived. The only thing that could have saved the evening would be superb quality food. Unfortunately this didn’t happen either. The pork belly was a generous size, but needed to be cooked more to tenderize, the crackling was just hard. There was a gravy/jus on the side which was quite salty – just average food really.  None of us wanted to stay any longer so we paid and left as soon as we had finished our mains.
Overall very disappointed with the whole evening and experience at the Radcliffe and won’t be back there unless I hear that things have significantly improved.
Food 2.5
Venue/Service 2
Value for Money 2

Maurice's review




I had been looking forward to going to The Radcliffe, it must be at least 18 months since my last visit. I used to work close by and popped in once in a while for lunch just after the refurb and was always very impressed. As well as the usual team we had a guest reviewer with us, so I decided to book in advance. Well this in itself should have been a sign of things to come. I had spoken to a very nice chap who requested last name, then first name, then required time, then would i like the conservatory or the bar area, etc. Once I had confirmed all this information he then decided he wasn’t able to make the booking and put me on to another chap. I then had to go over everything again as nothing had been written down. A minor frustration but a telling sign given what followed.

Our table was booked in the conservatory for 8:00pm we arrived early and had a drink at the bar. I must say a nice range of beers and ales on offer, so not for your traditional Fosters drinker. But it was nice to have something new. On asking for our table we were pointed to a table by the kitchen doors. I mentioned I had booked a table in the conservatory, and was informed “sorry there are no tables left in there, besides most people want to eat in here”. I reiterated my point, to be told that the waitress has now said there was a table free, excellent. Ohhh no hang on 2 minutes later we were then told that that table had now gone and we would have to eat in bar area.

So we took our seats at 7:50. The purpose of choosing this restaurant on this night was to try their special offer which was “2 Hanger Steaks and a bottle of wine for £30”. Then we waited, then waited, then tried several times to catch the waiters eye, and just as we were going to leave. Service. I promptly ordered my Hanger steak to be told “I am sorry sir we have just served the last one”. I am afraid at this point the menu, hit the table followed by a moody “That’s it I give up, just forget it” I had a stunned look from the waiter. “Im sorry sir but I can’t help it if we have sold out”. I went on to explain we had been waiting for over 40 mins and had he served us sooner we would have been in time, In fairness he handled the complaint well and offered to replace the steaks with Sirloin. The deal was done.



Sadly just as we thought we could move on with our evening, we were presented with yet another 30 minute wait before the main course actually arrived.

Ok my steak looked good, it was cooked well, medium rare with a little blood, if not a little on the cold side as if it had been kept under heating lights for a little while. The chips, well what can I say, there is a McDonalds just up the road, and I think someone ran up there and grabbed a portion for my plate. OK they were fine they were French fries, but in a gastro pub you expect more.

I will let the guys comment on their mains, but I got the vibe they were not impressed, something to do with a couple of strategically placed napkins at the end.

We debated a desert, for about 1 min, as we realised that they shut in about an hour and there was no way they were going to be able to serve before then.
So that’s it really, a huge disappointment. I used to really enjoy there lunch menu and service used to be great, but its almost like they have given up trying. I know The Hermitage and The Highlander must be a threat to them, but they should be rising to the challenge not throwing in the towel.


Food 2.5
Venue/Service 2
Value for Money 2

Mick's Review




Well I was really looking forward to this evenings feast, Maurice had pre-booked the meal the previous week, as we had been informed that the Radcliffe Arms were doing a steak meal deal with a bottle of wine for two people for £30.00, so Maurice checked with our guest reviewer as we knew he liked steak, perfect we thought, (I knew it wasn't gonna be good, as Maurice when making the booking gave all the details and requests only to be told, sorry I can't take this booking ill have to hand it over to someone else) having made the booking for 20.00 and requested to be seated in the conservatory, we turned up slightly before 20.00 and bought beers and told the barman we had booked to eat at 20.00 and in the conservatory, ah he said I think the conservatory is fully booked but there might be a place, having checked he came back ah sorry but the table has been given to someone else (good start to the evening we all thought) so we settled for a table inside, well we waited for a while and the waiter came and asked for our order ( I had previously been prepped by Maurice on what "hanging steak was" so I explained this to our guest reviewer who then screwed the total arrangement by asking for the pork belly (after agreeing the previous week to go for the steak/wine deal), at this point we asked the water to give us a couple of minutes as we had to decide what to do.

Thanks to Harry's kindness he decided to go for the pork belly so that left Maurice and Mick to go for the steak/deal, well that's good, but 20 minutes later the waiter came back and was ready to take our order, too which he informed us that "ALL" the steak had been taken , oh great that's screwed us up even more, but, credit to the waiter he said he would ask the Chef if  he would be able to get us sirloin Steak instead, he came back and informed us that was ok, so we ordered, now having been in the restaurant for 50 minutes it was gonna be another 30 minutes before the meal turned, just in time as I and Maurice were within seconds of saying stuff it enough is enough when the meal turned up.

I know the guest reviewer and Harry were not totally happy with their meal, I must say when eventually the meal turned up, it was nicely presented, but the steak was good, disappointed that it was served with (what i can only describe as "McDonald" style french fries and NOT hand cut chips, but the whole debacle had spoiled what I thought was going to be a good evening, when we had all finished we paid up and left, with a great sense of disappointment

Food 2.5
Venue/Service 2
Value for Money 2

Radcliffe Arms response to our review:


Dear Maurice Matthews,

Thank you for your email detailing your visit to The Radcliffe Arms this week. I’m sorry you did not enjoy your time here, and I’m sorry we had already run out of our “Steak Deal” Hangar steaks by the time you came to order. This does happen from time to time, particularly if it is a very busy night, fully booked in fact, and we would normally upgrade any customers to Ribeye or Sirloin accordingly, as my colleague (who’s an ex-footman to the Duke of Edinburgh by the way) did in this case.

I see also that you didn’t like the chips. We have fluctuated between serving the skinny fries and big chunky hand-cut chips, during the almost four years we’ve been cooking at The Radcliffe, and there is a slight majority of customers in favour of the skinny fries, probably because there is more fat & salt in them, everyone always wants what’s bad for them. I’ve seen exactly the same served in everywhere from the Ivy to McDonalds, Burger King to the Savoy, they are very popular.

I was also very concerned that you seemed to have to wait an hour & fifteen minutes to have your order taken in the first place, and then a further forty-five minutes to receive your food. On closer enquiry, the staff on duty don’t quite share your recollection of events, and searching the till data doesn’t appear to back up your fiction. Let me enlighten you a little; You sat at 7.55pm, having enjoyed some of the best beer in Hitchin at the bar (thanks for those compliments) and your order for two medium-rare sirloins & two pork belly went to the kitchen at exactly 8.30pm. So, a 35 minute wait. To finish drinks, peruse the menu, and given it was busy, about right, rather than an hour & a quarter. By your estimation, you wouldn’t have even got your food until 9.50pm, which would have been remarkable, given that you paid your bill and left at 9.34pm.

It’s very rare that someone comes along, masquerading as a genuine customer, with a genuine complaint, and I call them out on it. If there is ever a scintilla of doubt, I try to bend over backwards to make that person feel welcome, and keep them well fed and leaving happy. You guys on the other hand are, in my opinion, on a bully-boy fishing expedition to see what you can wangle for free, with the added threat of a public complaint via social media.

I won't stand for it. Please don't come here again.

Regards

Stuart Alder

Our Response


Dear Stuart,

Thanks for your reply, but you appear to have completely misunderstood the purpose of our reviews and web site, but a couple of points before we address that.

1) With respect to the timing however you look at it we arrived before 8 pm, had one course and left after 9.30. That constitutes slow service, given that we left immediately after finishing eating. Whilst it is clear that you were busy that wasn’t conveyed to us. If we had been told that the kitchen was running late and there would be a delay that would have at least have given us warning.
2) The upgrade to sirloin wasn’t offered when we were informed that the hanger steak was off, but only when we were discussing leaving. The waiter who was courteous and with whom we have no issues said that he would ask the kitchen about whether an upgrade could be offered, so we do not believe it is fair for you to say that offering an upgrade is normal practice.

In all our reviews we have been completely anonymous, no discount or special treatment has been asked for or expected before, during or after our visit. The rationale is that we are treated no differently to any other customers so get to see what the service is like for “genuine customers”.

The Radcliffe is the eighth review that we have done. For each of these we have paid in full and left the establishment without them being aware that we have reviewed them. In your establishment we also paid the bill in full, so we are unclear how you could be of the opinion that we are trying to wangle something for free? We went to the Radcliffe expecting to get a good meal and give a good review – that didn’t happen on the evening in question. If you read other reviews you will see that we have given 4 marks plus to other venues simply based on the good service and food we received from them. No financial incentive played any part on these reviews, or will do going forward.

To call us bullies is not only extremely insulting but also laughable – we are anything but.

As for being not welcome in the Radcliffe I can assure you that none of us will lose any sleep over that.

The Pint and a Pie Team


Monday, April 1, 2013

The Croft, Bancroft

The Croft Hitchin

TOTAL TEAM RATING

Maurice's Review 

Venue: The Croft is a classic bistro style wine bar and restaurant, I often visist for a drink there during the week and a friendly team of staff welcome you. They have a good range of wines and lagers, but not much real ale. The place is well decorated and kept clean and tidy. The only comment I would make is in the year or so I have been visitng I have still not managed to get the loo to flush!

Wine: I had a nice bottle of Five Track Shiraz, which went well with the food. This was one of the cheapest reds on the menu at £17.


The Croft Hitchin - Paris Garlic Mushrooms

Starter: Paris Garlic Mushrooms: £4.50

A generous portion of mushrooms well cooked, but still with all the natural juices and flavouring. The melted blue cheese and garlic was both strong in taste but complimented the mushrooms perfectly. I really enjoyed this starter, but a nice piece of bread to help mop up those lovely juices and cheese at the end would have been perfect.


The Croft Burger


Main: The Croft Burger £13.00

Obviously I had to try the house special The Croft Burger, this is a hand made beef burger topped with melted cheese, smoked bacon, free range egg, mustard, gherkin and onion rings. This is a monster burger and doesn't disappoint. The burger is clearly 100% beef and very tasty and the mixture of the mustard, egg and bacon is great. Has to be eaten with a knife and fork way to big to handle by hand, but this was a good thing. Chips, well normally chips are chips but I must admit these were excellent, nice and crispy and still fluffy. The only poor thing was the bun, a little dry for my liking. Lastly there was a deal on 2 burgers and save £5, Mick also had a burger, but I am afraid they didn't take the £5 off, until requested.

Service: Service in the Croft is always welcoming, friendly and efficient. The staff are excellent and open to have a laugh, whilst always being professional. Normally I would have given a 5/5 especially with the complimentary cocktail shots which was a great touch. However we did have to move tables at the start.  One of the dishes was now off the menu, but we didnt know until after ordering, and the discount for the burgers were not taken of the bill. However I still some of the best staff in Hitchin.

Service and venue: 4/5
Food and drink: 4/5
Value for money: 4/5


Harry's Review

A nice friendly bar, but not one that I use often. No real ales on draft, but they do have bottles e.g. St Austell Tribute and also a keg Stout on draft which is quite drinkable.

For starter I ordered wild boar pate, for main the game pie. Unfortunately was informed about 5 mins after ordering that the game pie was not available, so not a great start! Opted for the chicken supreme with potatoes and green beans instead.


The portions for both were generous, a good thing! The wild boar pate was very enjoyable, served with warm local bread, herby butter and mixed leaves. Great tasting pate and 3 decent sized slabs of it.


The main however was not quite so impressive. There was a fair sized portion of nicely cooked new potatoes, crisped on the outside. Also a mountain of green beans, but a relatively small chicken breast at least compared to the size of the veg portions. The chicken was nicely cooked and dressed with a tasty wild mushroom sauce, but something was over-salted, may well have been the green beans. 


The burgers ordered by Maurice and Mick looked good, especially the piri-piri chicken burger. Next time I am eating here, I will go for a burger or steak. 

Also was too full for a pud, so that will have to wait until next time too!

So overall very positive, it was a great evening and just a shame that the game pie was not available and the main I had didn’t quite cut the mustard.

Service and venue: 4/5
Food and drink: 4/5
Value for money: 4/5


Micks Review


The Croft Breaded Camembert


Starter: Breaded Camembert

Nicely presented - was a mixture of hot and cold temperature, although it did not spoil my enjoyment.
 

The Croft Piri Piri Burger


Main: Speciality burger - Chicken Piri-Piri - 

This was the first time I had tried this meal and was pleasantly surprised, again well presented very very tasteful and slightly spicy but very enjoyable. With regards to the chips, I was amazed absolutely fantastic, not burnt, crispy or under cooked spot on.

Service and venue: 4/5
Food and drink: 4/5
Value for money: 4/5



Visit The Croft at: http://www.thecrofthitchin.co.uk/ for details of their opening hours and menu selection.